Aside

First day of Cl…

26 Jan

First day of Class.

January 26, 2012. Today was the First day of Comp & Lit 1.

I am taking the class at the Peekskill Extension. 

I am not a writer at all; I was placed in the Basic Writing II course last semester because I did not get the passing number of an 8 on the placement essay.

I am absolutely terrified of sitting in a quiet room full of student with their heads down and writing an essay. It feels like everyone is trying to think at the same time, and ideas are just floating around the room like butterflies not wanting to be caught and I cannot catch any!

When it came time to take the first exit exam of BWII; I was so terrified that I only wrote the introduction and two sentences of the first paragraph (got a 6 but still not enough to pass.)  My mind was blank I could not think, so I gave up. The second time around, for the final exit exam I felt confident. I have no idea what changed in me that I felt right on point, and I just started writing  (I had a little trouble in the thesis, though.)

 I was so nervous to check the grades on MyWCC. When I finally built up enough courage to check I saw an “A” but, I just could not believe it. I would check every week to see if it was a mistake. It was not a mistake because today I made it through the First Day of Composition and Literature 101! =]

Leave a comment